FeedReader Is Dead

Clickbait Title

March 22, 2020

Now that I got your attention, let me explain what I mean by that.

FeedReader is hopefully still a useful application to many people. And it won’t go away thanks to the awesome technology called flatpak.

State of the project

But, FeedReader hasn’t gotten much love from me or fellow former contributors in quite some time. Bug reports have only been responded to sporadically. Merge requests have not been reviewed as quickly as you would expect. And new releases have been sparse.

I am thankful for all the people who helped maintain this project and sent in pull requests over the last few years. I am thankful for all the things I learned and all the people who were patient with me and took the time to teach me a new trick or two. I am even thankful for most of the bug reports, feature ideas and design improvements I received. Although I have to admit that this was easily the most stressful part of maintaining a whole project, as I often got overwhelmed and was a bit defensive when facing too many requests at once. But looking back, most of the community was respectful, supportive and helpful.

So thank you for the awesome ride!

What comes next?

A complete rewrite and re-imagination of the FeedReader project that has been in the works for about 2 years now.